UC San Diego SearchMenu


UC San Diego provides paid time off for holidays for eligible employees.

The university provides 13 paid holidays a year, listed below. To find the dates that they will be observed this year, see the payroll calendar. A holiday that falls on Saturday is typically observed on the preceding Friday; a holiday that falls on Sunday is typically observed on the following Monday.

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day, observed on the third Monday in January
  • Presidents' Day, observed on the third Monday in February
  • César Chávez Day: observed on the last Friday in March
  • Memorial Day, observed on the last Monday in May
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday after Thanksgiving
  • Winter Break (2 days)
  • New Year's Eve (or equivalent)

Download the calendar

If you use Outlook, you can download the current academic and administrative calendar .ics file to add these holidays to your calendar. Follow the instructions on the bottom of the current academic calendar page.

Note: In order to show all of the current calendar year holidays in Outlook, you'll need to download the current and next academic year calendars (e.g. 2017-2018 and 2018-2019).

Note: This page has a friendly link that's easy to remember: http://blink.ucsd.edu/go/paidholidays
Notice: The information on this page summarizes provisions of university policies and/or collective bargaining agreements. Refer to the Personnel Policies for Staff Members (PPSM) and local implementing procedures or applicable collective bargaining agreement for full text of referenced information.