Skip to main content

System Status: 

How to Share Your Video With Other MediaSpace Users

You can allow others users to see your video in their “My Media” and perform a variety of actions on them depending on the role you assign to them.

If you'd like to allow others to edit or publish your videos, you can share your videos with them in such a way that it shows up in their "My Media." Kaltura refers to this as "adding collaborators."

What is a Collaborator?

A collaborator is another UCSD community member (who's logged into MediaSpace at least once) to whom you've given access to your video. You can assign collaborators to a video you own on a video-by-video basis. What they can do with your video depends on the role you've selected for them.

  • Co-Viewers see your video in their "My Media" but can only view it.
  • Co-Publishers see your video in their "My Media" and can publish it to other channels of which they're a member.
  • Co-Editors see your video in their "My Media" and can edit all the details of your video - title, description, captions, etc. They can also download it. They are not able to publish it.
Users may have more than one collaborator role. (For example, if you want someone to be able to publish and edit your video, assign them as a co-editor AND co-publisher for that video.) There are a variety of reasons that you might want to share a video - check out the drawers below to learn more and see how.

Whys, Requirements, Caveats

Why You Might Want to Assign a Collaborator

  • Co-Editor Role
    • You want someone else to be able to edit any details about your video, such as fix captions, add cuts, or adjust your metadata
  • Co-Publisher Role
    • Another instructor wants to publish your video to their channel (or publicly)
  • Co-Viewer Role
    • You want to allow another user to view your video in their "My Media" section of MediaSpace, but not be able to publish or edit it

Prerequisites

  • A video in "My Media" that you own
  • The user with whom you want to share the video has UCSD active directory credentials and has accessed "My Media" previously

Caveats

  • All roles
    • The user you want to add as a collaborator must have logged into MediaSpace at least once, so their Kaltura username has been created
  • Co-Editor Role
    • The user will have full administrative access to your video (editing metadata, making cuts, changing captions, downloading your video, etc.)
    • They cannot add additional collaborators or delete your video
    • They are not able to publish the video
  • Co-Publisher
    • The user will be able to publish your video without any automatic notification to you
  • Co-Viewer
    • None

How to Add Collaborators

  1. If you're not already logged into MediaSpace, go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu, click "Guest" at the top right of the screen and select "Login." Enter your active directory credentials. The screen will refresh and "Guest" at the top of the screen will be replaced with your name.
  2. Click your name at the top of the screen and select "My Media."
  3. Locate the video you want to share, and click the pencil icon on the right side of its row to view the Edit Player.
  4. Click the "Collaboration" tab under the video preview.
  5. Click "+ Add Collaborator."
A screenshot of the collaboration tab, with "add collaborator" circled.
  1. Search for the individual you'd like to add as a collaborator using their active directory username. If you try to use their actual name, it's likely that the search will be much more difficult.
  2. Now you'll want to identify the role that you want the other user to have. While each role will allow the user to have your video show up in their "My Media," there are some distinctions between the roles.

Collaborator Roles

  • Co-Editors have the most expansive set of privileges. They can edit all details of your video, including being able to edit captions, trim your video, and edit your metadata.
  • Co-Publishers can publish your video to their channel(s) and make it public or unlisted.
  • Co-Viewers can only watch your video in "My Media" and can’t do anything else to it.
  1. Once you've identified and selected the user and the role, click "Add." You'll be brought back to the previous screen and you should now see the user listed on the page with the appropriate role.
You can revoke the permissions that you've provided to this user at any time by removing them from the respective role.

How to Change the Media Owner

If you want, you can also completely reassign a video to someone else. Kaltura refers to this as changing the media owner. When you do this, your video will no longer appear in your "My Media" anymore and will instead show up in theirs (unless you've taken steps to add yourself as a collaborator before doing so).

  1. If you’re not already logged into MediaSpace, go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu, click "Guest" at the top right of the screen and select "Login." Enter your active directory credentials. The screen will refresh and "Guest" at the top of the screen will be replaced with your name.
  2. Click your name at the top of the screen and select "My Media."
  3. Locate the video you want to share, and click the pencil icon on the right side of its row to view the Edit Player.
  4. Click the "Collaboration" tab under the video preview.
  5. Click "Change Media Owner." Search for the individual to whom you’d like to assign the media by searching for their active directory username. If you try to use their actual name, it’s likely that the search will be much more difficult.
  6. Once you’ve identified and selected the user, click "Save."
Have additional questions about video? Contact Multimedia Services at kaltura@ucsd.edu.