Skip to main content

System Status: 

Honoring César E. Chávez

UC San Diego celebrates the 23rd annual César E. Chávez month-long celebration. This year's theme "Celebrando y Luchando por La Causa; Celebrating and Fighting for the Cause" highlights a series of events and opportunities for the campus and the community. Click below for the calendar of events.

Calendar of Events


Join us for UC San Diego's 23rd Annual César E. Chávez Celebration Kickoff and Scholarship Awards. This in-person event will kick off a month-long celebration featuring our theme:Celebrando y Luchando por La Causa
; Celebrating and Fighthing for the Cause.

UC San Diego Honors the Life and Legacy of César Chávez

To ring in the start of UC San Diego’s César E. Chávez celebration month, thisweek@ucsandiego invited students, faculty and staff to join in a conversation around the impact of his work and legacy.

Read More


Advancement • Athletics • Black Resource Center • Chancellor's Office • Chicanx/Latinx Staff Association • Chicano/a Alumni Association • Create/E.A.O.P/Trio • Cross-Cultural Center • Eleanor Roosevelt College • Enrollment Management • EVC Office • Extended Studies • Geisel Library • Global Initiatives • Graduate Education & Postdoc Affairs • Housing•Dining•Hospitality - Human Resources and Residential Experience • Jacobs School of Engineering • Residential Experience • Intertribal Resource Center • Marshall College • Muir College • O.A.S.I.S. • Physical Sciences • Qualcomm Institute • Rady School of Management • Revelle College • San Diego Super Computer • Scripps Institute of Oceanography • Seventh College • Sixth College • Social Sciences •  Student Life • Student Retention Services • Teaching + Learning Commons • University Centers • VC-CFO Office • VC-Student Affairs • VC-EDI (Primary Event Sponsor) • VC-Research Management Planning • Warren College


If you are interested in supporting César E. Chávez student scholarships and programs, please contact Madelyne Agamata at

César E. Chávez Celebration 2024 Kickoff Planning Committee

Planning Committee

Mario Garibay, Ali Cresap, Belinda Zamacona, Amanda Rubalcava, Berenice Jau, Cathy Baez, Claudia Pena, Darlene Schluter, Haydee Salazar, Izzy Narvaez, Kenia Quinonez, Maria Salgado, Maria Zuniga-Bel, Maribel (Bel) Geronimo, Maribel Gomez, Melissa Diaz, Omar Padilla, Stephanie Estrada, Susana Barajas, Thalia Roman and Vanessa Martinez.

Advancement Members

John Duca, Amanda Rubalcava, and Mandy Sullivan.


Vice Chancellor Becky R. Petitt, Maddy Agamata, Norma A. Nava, Karla Ramirez, Giselle Torres, Jocelyn De Jesus, Daniel Lopez and Lexie Shuyang.