UC San Diego SearchMenu

Excellence in Stewardship Awards

Learn about the Excellence in Stewardship awards program.

Overseen by the UC San Diego Foundation’s Donor Relations and Stewardship Committee, the annual Excellence in Stewardship awards promotes outstanding donor stewardship. The program recognizes UC San Diego employees who, although their job descriptions may not include donor stewardship, demonstrate excellent results in engaging with and acknowledging our donors and supporters.

2019 Excellence in Stewardship awardees:
Dr. Shu Chien, Dr. Brian Keating and Jesse DeWald

Learn more about Dr. Shu Chien, Dr. Brian Keating and Jesse DeWald (PDF)


Pictured from left to right:
Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla, Dr. Brian Keating, Dr. Shu Chien, Jesse DeWald and Sandra Timmons '81 at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner on June 6, 2019       

Who May Nominate, Who May Qualify

When you nominate such an outstanding individual, the Excellence in Stewardship Award encourages and recognizes that employee for exemplary efforts that demonstrate the impact of philanthropy and significantly strengthen a donor's relationship with the university.

Any UC San Diego employee, UC Foundation Board Trustee, or campus volunteer, who is familiar with the individual may nominate. Individuals may not self-nominate and are not eligible to win more than one award in a five-year period. Because this award is intended to recognize employees who are working beyond the scope of their job descriptions to steward our donors, Advancement and University Communications and Public Affairs employees are not eligible.

How to Nominate

Access the nomination form below and submit forms to Christy Bliss, Executive Director of Donor Experience and Engagement, via email at cmbliss@ucsd.edu or through Campus Mail at MC 0937.

2020 Award Nomination Form (PDF)

Award Categories

  • Faculty or Campus Leadership
  • Staff

Award Criteria

Our colleagues demonstrate Excellence in Stewardship through meaningful activities that:

  • Demonstrate impact of a donor's philanthropy
  • Are personalized and meaningful to the donor
  • Demonstrate the strengthening of the relationship between UC San Diego and the donor
  • Are innovative, original and cost-effective
  • Have shown persistence and long-term commitment to high-quality stewardship efforts

Annual Award Timeline

  • Call for Nominations - December
  • Nomination Deadline - February
  • Winners Notified - March
  • Awards Ceremony at the UC San Diego Foundation Board Annual Dinner - June



shirk.png      camacho.png

2018 awardees Dr. Susan Shirk and V. Adrian Camacho


Beck_Timmons      Murillo_Timmons

2017 awardees Dr. Ellen Beck and Rudy Murillo accepted their awards with Sandra Timmons at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner on June 22, 2017



2016 awardees Mary Beebe, Lynda Claassen and Dr. Catriona Jamieson accepted their awards at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner on June 2, 2016



2015 awardees Ann Klein and Rand Steiger accepted their awards at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner on June 4, 2015



2014 awardees Barbara Parker, MD and Portia Bibb accepted their awards at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner June 12, 2014


2013 Awardees

2013 awardees Nigella Hillgarth and Debbie Soldano accepted their awards at the UC San Diego Foundation Board dinner on June 21, 2013 

Note: this page has a friendly link that is easy to remember: http://blink.ucsd.edu/go/stewardship-awards