Supervisors, including all academic appointees, must complete 2 hours of sexual harassment prevention training every 2 years. New supervisors at the University of California must complete 2 hours of training within 3 months of assuming supervisory responsibilities. This requirement is based on Assembly Bill 1825, which became law on Jan. 1, 2005.
Supervisors who need to fulfill the state requirement can use either one of the following methods:
Attend a classroom training: UC Learning Center, a service of Staff Education & Development, offers Sexual Harassment Prevention: The Survival Guide and Sexual Harassment Prevention: Life Theatre’s Survival Guide, both of which satisfy the mandatory sexual harassment training requirement for supervisors under California law. Download the Life Theatre flyer on the OPHD Programs page to learn more.
Note: Those attending the classroom training may disregard the email that contains their personalized link.
- Take an online course: An online training program is available for supervisors. Those who have not satisfied the training requirement will receive an e-mail with a personalized link to the program. You can take the 2-hour course from any computer with access to the Internet, and you can stop and restart at any time. The program also keeps track of who has completed the course. For assistance with the online program, contact email@example.com. For questions about the content of the training or whether you are required to take it, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
For more information, see details about the Office for the Prevention of Harassment & Discrimination (OPHD) or visit the OPHD website for frequently asked questions about the training requirement, including information about the online program and classroom training registration.
Effective January 1, 2016, all non-supervisory employees, including student employees, are required to complete mandatory annual sexual violence and sexual harassment prevention training. The program is an online video-based training that takes approximately one hour to complete through UC Learning Center (login required).
Departments wishing to provide instructor-led programs to satisfy this requirement for their nonsupervisory employees may contact OPHD for more information.
Note: This training is intended only for non-supervisory employees and does not meet the AB1825 Supervisory Requirement.