UC San Diego SearchMenu

UC San Diego Black Staff Association

The UC San Diego Black Staff Association is a volunteer member organization. Our success is driven by membership support and volunteerism.

If you or someone you know is interested in becoming an active member of a progressive organization, please submit your nomination.

Please review the BSA Constitution and specific details below on the nomination and election process.

Elected Executive Board Positions:

  • Chair
  • Co-Chair Campus
  • Co-Chair Medical Center
  • Secretary, Campus
  • Secretary, Medical Center
  • Treasurer
Committee chairs are appointed by the executive board, but nominations for the following position are welcome and desired:
  • Programs and Activities
  • Membership
  • Fundraising
  • Scholarship
  • Training and Development
  • Communication/ Public Relations

Also, this is a good time to check in with our Chair, Kafele Khalfani, kafele@ucsd.edu to make sure your membership is current and active. Per the BSA Constitution, membership status factors into your eligibility to participate in this process.


The Black Staff Association offers information and development opportunities through workshops and seminars for both personal and professional growth.The UCSD Black Staff Association is a group dedicated to creating a supportive campus environment for Black faculty, staff, and students by providing opportunities for personal interaction and meaningful involvement.

BSA Constitution

Follow UCSDBSA on Twitter 


Membership is open to all UCSD staff who share a common interest in our mission and the UCSD Principles of Community.

To join or renew membership in the UCSD Black Staff Association, download and complete the membership application and then send with payment to Tammy Blevins at Mail Code: 0140. BSA Memberships and renewals are also available through the UCSD Box Office at: http://boxoffice.ucsd.edu/ in the Campus Discounts section.

For more information about membership, please contact Membership Committee Chair, Leticia Harrison, (858) 822-7805, laharrison@ucsd.edu.

About Us

Executive Board

Kafele Khalfani
(858) 534-6171

Franklin Garrett
Co-Chair, Campus
(858) 534-0192

William Prince II
Co-Chair, Medical Center
(858) 657-8708

Tammy Blevins

Arwen Jamison 
Secretary, Campus

Davyda Johnson 
Past Chair
(858) 822-5022

Committee Chairs

PJ Hussey
Communications/Public Relations
(858) 657-8188

Leticia Harrison
(858) 822-7805

Mya Hines
Programs and Activities
(858) 534-3856

Open Positions

Secretary, Medical Center
Fundraising Committee Chair 
Scholarship Committee Chair
Training and Development Committee Chair