UC San Diego SearchMenu

Zoom: Settings and Configuration

Zoom settings provide you with the ability to customize your meeting participation preferences.

  1. From the Zoom Client Application, select the Settings button to customize your preferences.Configure Settings
  2. The Zoom Settings screen will open:
    General Settings

Expand all

General settings

The General Settings provide you with the ability to indicate your Application, Content Sharing, and Instant Message preferences.

Preferences Checked (enabled) Unchecked (disabled)
“Start Zoom when I start Windows” When you log into Windows, the client interface will automatically start. When you log into Windows, the client interface will not start.
“When closed, minimize window to notification area instead of task bar” When you close the client, it becomes accessible from the Windows notification area. When you close the client, it is not accessible from the Windows notification area.
“Always show meeting control bar” When you stop moving your mouse during the meeting, the control bar remains visible. When you stop moving your mouse during the meeting, the control bar auto-hides.
“Automatically copy Invitation URL to Clipboard after meeting starts” When your meetings starts, you can quickly paste the copied URL into an email or document. When your meetings starts, you have to manually copy the URL to paste it.
“Confirm with me when I leave a meeting” When you leave a meeting, you are prompted with options to “Do you want to leave this meeting.” When you leave a meeting, you are not prompted.
“Use dual monitors” When the meeting starts, a Zoom window opens on both monitors. When you join a meeting, Zoom opens up to a window that is not maximized.
“Enter full screen automatically when starting or joining a meeting” When you join a meeting, Zoom opens up to a full screen. When you join a meeting, Zoom opens up to a window that is not maximized.
“Enter full screen automatically when viewing screen shared by others” When a host shares their screen, Zoom opens up to a full screen. When a host shares their screen, Zoom opens up to a window that is not maximized.
“Maximize Zoom window automatically when viewing screen shared by others” The screen is maximized and provides you the ability to see your taskbar. The screen is maximized and hides your taskbar.
“Scale to fit my Zoom window when viewing screen shared by others” The content of the shared screen fills the entire Zoom window. The content of the shared screen is surrounded by vertical and horizontal black space.
“Enable the remote control of all applications” When a host shares remote control, the new host is able to control all of the original host’s applications. When a host shares remote control, the new host is able to control the application indicated.
“Play sound when I receive a chat message” When a chat message is received, the participant receives an audible notification. When a chat message is received, the participant does not receive an audible notification.
“Show floating notification when I receive a chat message” When a chat message is received, the participant receives a floating message notification. When a chat message is received, the participant does not receive a floating message notification.
“Show offline contacts” All contacts, online and offline, will be presented in the Contacts screen. Only online contacts will be presented in the Contact screen.
“Sync up status from Outlook calendar” Your status indicated in MS Outlook is viewable to fellow Zoom contacts. Your status indicated in MS Outlook is not viewable to fellow Zoom contacts.
Preference Checked (enabled) Unchecked (disabled)

Audio settings

The Audio Settings provide you the ability to determine the source of your audio, either computer or phone, for meeting participation. You can also test your computer’s audio capabilities.

Audio Settings

  1. Select the speakers you want to test from the list of your computer’s audio playback devices listed in the drop-down next to the Test Speaker button.
  2. Click the Test Speaker button.
  3. Adjust the volume of the selected playback device until you’re satisfied.
  4. Select the microphone you want to test from the list of your computer’s audio recording devices listed in the drop-down next to the Test Mic button.
  5. Click the Test Mic button.
  6. Adjust the volume of the selected recording device until you’re satisfied.
  7. Choose your audio preferences for meetings.
Preference Checked Unchecked
“Automatically join audio by computer when joining a meeting” When you participate in someone’s hosted meeting, your computer’s audio is automatically utilized. When you participate in someone’s hosted meeting, you’re prompted to choose your audio settings.
“Always mute microphone when joining meeting” When you participate in someone’s hosted meeting, your microphone is automatically muted. When you participate in someone’s hosted meeting, your microphone is not muted.

Video settings

The Video Settings provide you the ability to determine your preferences during meeting participation.

  1. Choose the camera you want to use from the “Camera” dropdown list.
  2. Choose between widescreen and original aspect ratios.
    Note: The widescreen aspect ratio presents black bars on both sides of the video playback.
  3. Choose your video preferences for meetings.
Preference Checked (enabled) Unchecked (disabled)
“Capture HD video” When you participate in a meeting, your computer’s camera will record in High Definition (HD).  When you participate in a meeting, your computer’s camera will not record in High Definition (HD).
“Enable mirror effect for my video” When you participate in a meeting, your computer’s camera will symmetrically reflect the camera’s frame, as if you were looking in a mirror. When you participate in a meeting, your computer’s camera will asymmetrically reflect the camera’s frame, as if you were looking through the camera lens.
“Always show name on video window” When you participate in a meeting, your name will appear to other participants. When you participate in a meeting, your name will not appear.
“Turn off my video when joining meetings” When you join a meeting, participants will not see video from your camera. When you join a meeting, participants will see video from your camera.
“Hide Non-Video Participants” When you join a meeting, participants whom have turned their video off will not be visible. When you join a meeting, participants whom have turned their video will be visible.
“Spotlight my video when I speak” When you participate in a meeting and speak, attention will be drawn to your camera feed. When you participate in a meeting and speak, attention will not be drawn to your camera feed.

Recording location

The Recording Location settings provide you the ability to specify a folder for your recordings to be stored.

Recording Settings

Set personal meeting ID (Pro accounts only)

Your meeting ID is the unique number that connects to your personal virtual conference room. When you create a Zoom invite, your meeting link will end in an arbitrary number like this: https://ucsd.zoom.us/1234567890.

We recommend that you change your personal meeting ID to your office phone number instead of the random number string assigned automatically by Zoom.

Note: you can only change your personal meeting ID if you have the Pro version of Zoom. Contact zoom@ucsd.edu for more information.

Change your personal meeting ID

  1. From the Zoom Settings screen, select Advanced Features and then Edit My Profile. If you are using a mobile app, your internet browser will open.
    Advanced Settings screenshot
  2. Under Personal Meeting ID, select Edit.
    Personal Meeting ID screenshot
  3. Enter your phone number for your Personal Meeting ID and Check Use Personal Meeting ID for instant meetings.
    Confirm Personal Meeting ID screenshot
  4. Your Personal Meeting ID automatically becomes your Personal Meeting URL; eg https://zoom.us/j/5551112222

Personal Vanity URL (optional – Pro license only)

You can set your Personal Meeting ID to be associated with your phone number. However, you can customize this option as well, the only requirement is that your Vanity URL must be at least 5 characters.

  1. Click on Add and type your desired URL (try to make it short and memorable),
  2. Click Save Changes.

Expand all