UC San Diego SearchMenu

Transportation Policy Committee

The Transportation Policy Committee (TPC) advises the Vice Chancellor – Resource Management & Planning on the development of UC San Diego's transportation programs and facilities, including those at the La Jolla and Hillcrest campuses and all other UC San Diego divisions at satellite locations.

The TPC is expected to promote and sustain UCSD as a pacesetter in terms of its responsiveness to legitimate concerns about the quality of the environment, equity of treatment, thoughtful use of land, and fiduciary obligations. Specifically, the TPC shall advise on:

  • Development of alternative transportation programs
  • Fees and rates
  • Location, timing and scope of future facilities
  • Disposition of transportation and parking system revenues

To assist the committee in its deliberations, staff representing the functional areas of the Vice Chancellor – Chief Financial Officer, and Resource Management & Planning (including individuals from the offices of Capital Planning, Facilities Design & Construction, Physical and Community Planning and Transportation Services) will be invited to attend TPC meetings on an “as needed” basis to provide information and to convey feedback appropriately to these Vice Chancellors and to other committees with intersecting responsibilities (e.g. TPC recommendations on sites for future facilities will be advanced to the Campus/Community Planning Committee). 


Ex Officio (non-voting)


  • David Brink, Committee on Faculty Welfare Representative
  • Jacqueline Griffin, General Campus MSO Representative
  • Daniel Jacobsen, Graduate Student Association Representative
  • Michael Leach, UC San Diego Healthcare Representative
  • Joseph Pogliano, Committee on Planning & Budget Faculty Representative
  • Elyse Sanchez, Staff Representative
  • David Stegman, Committee on Campus Community & Environment Faculty Representative, (Chair)       
  • Dominick Suvonnasupa, Undergraduate Student Representative


  • Robert Clossin, Director, Physical and Community Planning
  • Curt Lutz, Commute Solutions Manager, Transportation Services

Staff Support:

  • La Shon Smith, Transportation Services