UC San Diego SearchMenu

Pain Away Classes

Feeling tight on the shoulders? A bit sore on the legs? Give your body just 20 minutes or more to roll away knots and soften sore tissues with popular foam roller and softball tools in an interactive setting.

Pain Away classes last 2 hours and they are organized into 20-minute sessions focusing on specific parts of the body. Stay for 2 hours or pick the session(s) you need. The class is broken down into feet to knees (first 20 minutes), knees to hips (20 minutes), hips to lower back (20 minutes), hands to elbows (20 minutes), elbows to shoulders (20 minutes) and shoulders to neck (last 20 minutes). Make sure to wear comfortable clothes and be willing to work with a foam roller and a softball provided during class. Bring a beach towel and/or yoga mat as many of the interactive exercises are conducted on the floor. 

The class is free for all UC San Diego employees. Register for the Pain Away class on UC Learning Center.

Note: This class is not intended for employees who are currently seeking physical therapy and are not physically able to participate in the exercises. You may want to consult your healthcare provider before enrolling in the class. Pain Away classes are an extension of the Pain Relief Program offered by Environment, Health & Safety. 

University Center 401 - Training Room

Wednesday January 10 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday February 7 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday March 7 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday April 4 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday May 2 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday June 6 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday July 11 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday August 1 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday September 12 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday October 3 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday November 7 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Wednesday December 5 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Torrey Pines Center North - 1st Floor Shores Conference Room

Wednesday March 21 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Wednesday June 20 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Wednesday September 19 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Scripps - Martin Johnson House - T-29

Wednesday February 28 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday May 23 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday August 22 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday  November 28 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

East Campus Office Building - Rm. 3-007

Tuesday January 23 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Tuesday April 17 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Printable Pain Away Full Class Schedule (PDF)

Note: This page has a friendly link that's easy to remember: http://blink.ucsd.edu/go/painaway