UC San Diego SearchMenu

Academic and Administrative Calendar 2022–2023

See the UCSD-approved academic calendar for 2022–2023.

To view other calendar years (past and future), see the menu.

Note: Link to a printer-friendly version (PDF) of this calendar.

Fall 2022
Fall Quarter begins Monday, September 19
Instruction begins Thursday, September 22
Veterans Day Holiday Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday – Friday, November 24–25
Instruction ends Friday, December 2
Final Exams Saturday – Saturday, December 3–10
Fall Quarter ends Saturday, December 10
Winter Break Friday, Monday, December 23, 26
New Year Holiday Friday, Monday, December 30, January 2
- 49 Days of Instruction -
- 60 Days in Quarter -
Winter 2023
Winter Quarter begins Wednesday, January 4
Instruction begins Monday, January 9
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Monday, January 16
Presidents' Day Holiday Monday, February 20
Instruction ends Friday, March 17
Final Exams Saturday – Saturday, March 18–25
Winter Quarter ends Saturday, March 25
- 48 Days of Instruction -
- 58 Days in Quarter -
Spring 2023
Spring Quarter begins Wednesday, March 29
César Chávez Holiday Friday, March 31
Instruction begins Monday, April 3
Memorial Day observance Monday, May 29
Instruction ends Friday, June 9
Final Exams Saturday – Friday, June 10–16
Spring Quarter ends Friday, June 16
Commencement programs Saturday – Sunday, June 17–18
- 49 Days of Instruction -
- 58 Days in Quarter -
Summer Session I 2023
Instruction begins Monday, July 3
Independence Day Holiday Tuesday, July 4
Instruction ends Friday, August 4
Final Exams Friday – Saturday, August 4-5
Summer Session II 2023
Instruction begins Monday, August 7
Labor Day Holiday Monday, September 4
Instruction ends Friday, September 8
Final Exams Friday - Saturday, September 8-9
Summer Special Session 2023
For Special Session dates and deadlines,
see Summer Session Calendar or Schedule of Classes
Varies by class

Independence Day holiday: Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Labor Day: Monday, September 4, 2023

Download the calendar

If you use Outlook, you can download the 2022-2023 calendar.ics file and add these holidays to your calendar.


  1. Click the calendar.ics link.
  2. Save the .ics file on your computer.
  3. Go to Outlook and click on the File tab > Open > Import.
  4. Highlight Import an iCalendar (.ics) or vCalendar (.vcs) file and click Next.
  5. Browse to the file you just saved.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Select Open as New to create a separate holidays calendar or Import to import the holidays into your existing calendar.