UC San Diego SearchMenu

Academic and Administrative Calendar 2020–2021

See the UCSD-approved academic calendar for 2020–2021.

To view other calendar years (past and future), see the menu.

Note: Link to a printer-friendly version (PDF) of this calendar.

Fall 2020*
Fall Quarter begins Monday, September 28
Instruction begins Thursday, October 1
Veterans Day Holiday Wednesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday – Friday, November 26–27
Instruction ends Friday, December 11
Final Exams Saturday – Saturday, December 12–19
Fall Quarter ends Saturday, December 19
Winter Break Thursday – Friday, December 24–25
New Year Holiday Thursday – Friday, December 31 – January 1
- 49 Days of Instruction -
- 60 Days in Quarter -
Winter 2021
Winter Quarter begins Monday, January 4
Instruction begins Monday, January 4
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Monday, January 18
Presidents' Day Holiday Monday, February 15
Instruction ends Friday, March 12
Final Exams Saturday – Saturday, March 13–20
Winter Quarter ends Saturday, March 20
- 48 Days of Instruction -
- 55 Days in Quarter -
Spring 2021
Spring Quarter begins Wednesday, March 24
César Chávez Holiday Friday, March 26
Instruction begins Monday, March 29
Memorial Day observance Monday, May 31
Instruction ends Friday, June 4
Final Exams Saturday – Friday, June 5–11
Spring Quarter ends Friday, June 11
Commencement programs Saturday – Sunday, June 12–13
- 49 Days of Instruction -
- 58 Days in Quarter -
Summer Session I 2021
Instruction begins Monday, June 28
Independence Day Holiday Monday, July 5
Instruction ends Friday, July 30
Final Exams Friday – Saturday, July 30-31
Summer Session II 2021
Instruction begins Monday, August 2
Instruction ends Friday, September 3
Final Exams Friday - Saturday, September 3-4
Labor Day Holiday Monday, September 6
Summer Special Session 2021
For Special Session dates and deadlines,
see Summer Session Calendar or Schedule of Classes
Varies by class

Independence Day holiday: Monday, July 5, 2021

Labor Day: Monday, September 6, 2021

* All dates for Fall 2020 are in compliance with UCOP Religious Holiday Conflict Policy.