UC San Diego SearchMenu

Final Wages Overview

Certain provisions of the California Labor Code regarding the issuance of an employee's finalpaycheck now apply to the University of California. These changes are effective immediately.

Requirements

The following procedures apply to all faculty, staff and student employees and must be put into place in order to avoid penalties under the law.

The final paycheck (including earnings to date, overtime, compensatory time, and vacation hours) must be paid at the employee's site of employment on the day of separation under any of these scenarios:

  • The employee is discharged.
  • The employee has a predetermined ending date.
  • The employee has given at least 72 hours' notice of intention to quit.

When an employee gives no notice of separation, the University has 72 hours to issue the final paycheck. If the employee requests or agrees, the final paycheck may be mailed to an address designated by the employee. The check should be delivered by certified mail (or similar mailing method) to document the date of payment.

Note: Final payment must be made via issuance of check. Direct deposit (Surepay) is not allowed under the law (see FAQ for further information).

Procedures

In order to avoid noncompliance with the law, advanced planning in all departments will be needed each time a separation occurs. New payroll procedures must be followed closely.

Pay dates

Every department must prominently display the official University pay dates and the time and place for employees to receive payment.

Additional resources

For more background and detail on how the law should be applied, you can review the following content.